Black History Month 2014: The first Black person to… be a member of the Society of Jesus (among other things)

Patrick Francis Healy

Patrick Francis Healy

Every year for Black History Month I explore the obvious and not so obvious parts of American history that those called Black have taken part in. The things that we (Black people) have done other than be stolen from our homeland and made forced labor in a land foreign to us. I’m going to start this series by looking up the first time someone African-American did something and broke the color barrier in that activity or field. I’ll be starting with Wikipedia and working my way out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_African-American_firsts

I will be learning a lot of this as I go since I am a product of the standardized Euro/Anglo/Caucasian leaning public school system. I hope you enjoy learning with me. I’ll be going down the list chronologically as it appears in the Wikipedia article.
.

For my seventeenth entry this month a Patrick Francis Healy 3-for-1:

1851: First African-American member of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits), Patrick Francis Healy.

1866: First African American to earn a Ph.D.: Father Patrick Francis Healy, S.J. (from University of Leuven, Belgium).

1874: First African-American president of a major college/university: Father Patrick Francis Healy, S.J. of Georgetown College.

Patrick Francis Healy (February 27, 1830 – January 10, 1910) was the 29th President of Georgetown University known for expanding the school following the American Civil War. He was accepted as and identified as Irish-AmericanHealy Hall, a National Historic Landmark, was constructed during Healy’s tenure and is named after him.

In the 1960s the history of Healy’s mixed-race ancestry became more widely known, and he was recognized as the first American of African ancestry to earn a PhD; the first to become a Jesuit priest; and the first to be president of a predominantly white college.

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)