Black History Month 2014: The first Black person to… be licensed to practice law in the U.S.

Macon Bolling Allen

Macon Bolling Allen

Every year for Black History Month I explore the obvious and not so obvious parts of American history that those called Black have taken part in. The things that we (Black people) have done other than be stolen from our homeland and made forced labor in a land foreign to us. I’m going to start this series by looking up the first time someone African-American did something and broke the color barrier in that activity or field. I’ll be starting with Wikipedia and working my way out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_African-American_firsts

I will be learning a lot of this as I go since I am a product of the standardized Euro/Anglo/Caucasian leaning public school system. I hope you enjoy learning with me. I’ll be going down the list chronologically as it appears in the Wikipedia article.

For my fourteenth entry this month:

1845:  First African American licensed to practice law in the U.S.: Macon Allen from the Boston bar

Macon Bolling Allen (born Allen Macon Bolling; August 4, 1816 – June 11, 1894) was the first African American licensed to practice law in the United States, (Maine, 1844), and is believed to be the first African American to hold a judicial position, (Massachusetts, 1848). He moved to CharlestonSouth Carolina after the American Civil War to practice law and was elected to be a judge in the probate court of Charleston in 1874. Following the Reconstruction Era, he moved to Washington, D.C., where he worked as an attorney for the Land and Improvement Association.

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)