Black History 365 #3 – The first Black people to… form a Black Christian congregation

 

 

This image is from an old pamphlet written by white historians in the 1800s so I'm not sure if this is really Silver Bluff Baptist or not.

This image is from an old pamphlet written by white historians in the 1800s so I’m not sure if this is really Silver Bluff Baptist or not.

 

 

Every day I will explore the obvious and not so obvious parts of American history that those called Black have taken part in. The things that we (Black people) have done other than being stolen from our homeland and made forced labor in a land foreign to us. I’m going to start this series by looking up the first time someone African-American did something and broke the color barrier in that activity or field. I’ll be starting with Wikipedia and working my way out:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_African-American_firsts

I will be learning a lot of this as I go since I am a product of the standardized Euro/Anglo/Caucasian leaning public school system. I hope you enjoy learning with me. I’ll be going down the list chronologically as it appears in the Wikipedia article.

For my fourth entry this month:

1773
First separate African-American church: Silver Bluff Baptist Church, Aiken County, South Carolina

The Silver Bluff Baptist Church in Aiken County, South Carolina, was founded by several enslaved African Americans who organized under elder David George in 1773-1775.

The historian Albert Raboteau has identified it as the first separate black congregation in the nation, although others contend for that distinction. After the British occupied Savannah in 1778 during the American Revolutionary War, George and his congregation of 30 slaves went to the city for freedom behind their lines. The British had promised freedom to slaves who escaped from rebel masters. Those members who stayed in Savannah after the end of the American Revolutionary War evolved into the First African Baptist Church.

George was highly influential in the early black Baptist movement. Resettling with his family and Black Loyalists in Nova Scotia, he founded a congregation there. George also founded a congregation and Baptist church in FreetownSierra Leone, where he and his family migrated in 1792.

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)

