Hello there, WordPress!

I have been severely slacking on keeping in touch with you dear reader-folk.

When I started this blog back in 2013, I was dating a VERY pro-black Rasta from Newark, New Jersey.

That relationship put me into a mindset that has come and go over the years: AM I BLACK ENOUGH???

I hate that this is even a thing that any melinated person has to think about, but as a Black/white biracial who was raised by my white mother and stepfather in predominately white neighborhoods it has been an ongoing mental struggle.

So I started a blog to write it out.

I began a series about my cultural journey within Blackness in spite of my lack of proximity to a Black community. In spite of being raised by white people, the fact was and is that I am BLACK.

This blog is called AfrocentriqueAZ because that is where I lived most of my life. It is a very specific perspective on what it is to be a brown girl in a white world.

Because I was raised in Arizona, one thing I know is that even with Black History Month, my ethnic education was extremely lacking.

So I  started my Black History series that I did off and on.

Now…

The time is quickly coming to move on to the next adventure in my life.

I have been focused on the sailing trip around the world since before this blog existed. I was invited back in 2012 and have been navigating a series of events to get ready to actually do this thing.

The part where I may be the first Black American woman to sail around the world is an unexpected accidental part of the whole thing.

I have a LOT of work to do, but I wanted to check back with those of you who still have me in your reader. I appreciate you!

Thanks for reading,
~ Niccolea

afrocentric thank you - 2

Photo source: gyenyamejapan.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Hello there, WordPress!

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)

