Black History 365 – First known African-American woman to graduate from one of the Seven Sisters colleges

First known African-American woman to graduate from one of the Seven Sisters college: Hortense Parker (Mount Holyoke College).  Photo Source: http://mtholyoke.cdmhost.com/cdm/singleitem/collection/p1030coll8/id/2558/rec/1

First known African-American woman to graduate from one of the Seven Sisters college: Hortense Parker (Mount Holyoke College).
Photo Source: http://mtholyoke.cdmhost.com/cdm/singleitem/collection/p1030coll8/id/2558/rec/1

In 2016 for my Black History 365 series, I explore the obvious and not so obvious parts of American history that those called Black have taken part in. The things that we (Black people) have done other than be stolen from our homeland and made forced labor in a land foreign to us. I’m going to start this series by looking up the first time someone African-American did something and broke the color barrier in that activity or field. I’ll be starting with Wikipedia and working my way out:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_African-American_firsts

I will be learning a lot of this as I go since I am a product of the standardized Euro/Anglo/Caucasian leaning public school system. I hope you enjoy learning with me. I’ll be going down the list chronologically as it appears in the Wikipedia article.

If you have any other sources or additional information for this topic, please share in the comments. I also welcome any and all comments and discussion. Thanks for reading!

From Wikipedia:

Hortense Parker Gilliam, born Hortense Parker (1859–1938), was the first known African-American graduate of Mount Holyoke Female Seminary, in 1883. She taught music and piano at elementary school in Kansas City, Missouri from 1906-1913. That year she married James Marcus Gilliam, and moved with him to St. Louis, where she taught music and lived the rest of her life.

(For more information, please read the full Wikipedia article.)

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)

