Black History 365, Women’s History Month edition: Octavia Butler

Since there are so many facets of the history that people of African descent have made in this country, I’ve decided to continue my “Black History 365″ series from my poetry blog here on my AfrocentriqueAZ blog. I’ll be posting a new “First Black” every day this month and every Wednesday for the months after that. 

In honor of WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH all March the articles will all be about first Black WOMEN… Today’s is Octavia Butler

Octavia Butler: first science fiction writer to win the MacArthur Fellowship (aka "genius grant.")

Octavia Butler: first science fiction writer to win the MacArthur Fellowship (aka “genius grant.”)

From Wikipedia:

Octavia Estelle Butler (June 22, 1947 – February 24, 2006) was an American science fiction writer. A recipient of both the Hugo and Nebula awards, Butler was one of the best-known women in the field. In 1995, she became the first science fiction writer to receive the MacArthur Fellowship, nicknamed the Genius Grant.

Butler’s first story published was “Crossover” in the 1971 Clarion Workshop anthology. She sold another early short story, “Childfinder”, to Harlan Ellison for the anthology The Last Dangerous Visions, which remains unpublished although Locus published its contents in June 1979. “I thought I was on my way as a writer”, Butler recalled in her 2005 short fiction collection Bloodchild and Other Stories. “In fact, I had five more years of rejection slips and horrible little jobs ahead of me before I sold another word.” ISFDB places her second published speculative fiction story in 1979.

 

~~~

00--WOMENS HISTORY MONTH

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)

