Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?

Another fellow artist here in the Phoenix, AZ art scene contemplates the lack of pigment representation. A good read and worthy of discussion. Check it out!

divinedirtclod23

ali

“His word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.” Jeremiah 20:9

Last night I had an honest conversation with my friend Connor Descheemaker about my race. I’m a black male and I was frustrated about the lack of black faces you see in the Phoenix art scene – especially black male faces.

The logical question becomes, why not? Why are there not a lot of black voices in the intimate Phoenix art community which I love?

Why have they been marginalized, assuming that they have?

We hear about the struggles of Hispanics, but the struggles of blacks seem to be conveyed in the abstract as we don’t tell enough stories about the struggles of blacks seem to go unreported.

It seems like there is a sense of oppression Olympics going on (a term…

View original post 443 more words

Tell me what you're thinking! :-)

